CATS Favicon   fr header 1200 twitter-small   facebooksmall   academia      Privacy Notice





REhabilitation and recovery of peopLE with Aphasia after StrokE (RELEASE) is a National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) funded project that aims to explore the contribution that individual characteristics (including stroke and aphasia profiles) and intervention components make to the natural history of recovery and rehabilitation of people with aphasia following stroke, and to inform future research design by utilising pre-existing aphasia to explore:

  • the natural history of language recovery
  • the patient, aphasia and stroke characteristics which are linked to language recovery outcomes
  • the components of effective aphasia rehabilitation interventions

This project is funded for two years (2015-2017) and has the following objectives:

  • To establish access to and collate pre-existing international, anonymised, aphasia research datasets into a single archive.
  • To further strengthen the resource by continuing recruitment efforts for additional existing datasets 
  • To establish patterns in the natural history of recovery, predictors of recovery and effective therapy components.
  • To disseminate these findings through three peer reviewed papers, relevant conference presentations, project partners including The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia, the Australian Aphasia Association, Speakeasy, Dyscover and the Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists.

We will conduct retrospective analyses of pooled, anonymised data from randomised controlled trials and longitudinal aphasia studies.

Over 4000 individual participants' data have been contributed or committed for inclusion in our analyses. 


For more information please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 




The latest news from RELEASE can be found in our project newsletters:

April 2016

May 2016

August 2016


Research Team:

Chief Investigator:

Prof Marian Brady (UK) 


Dr Myzoon Ali (UK) 


Mr Andrew Elders (UK)

Prof Jon Godwin (UK) 

Research Fellow:

Dr Louise Williams (UK) 

Data Co-ordinator:

Kathryn VandenBerg (UK) 



   Dr Stefanie Abel (UK)

   Dr Roxele Ribeiro Lima (BR)

   Dr Masahiro Abo (JP)

   Dr Antje Lorenz (DE) 

   Dr Myzoon Ali (UK) 

   Prof Brian MacWhinney (US)

   Dr Frank Becker (NO)

   Dr Flavia Mattoli (IT) 

   Dr Audrey Bowen (UK)

   Dr Ilknur Mavis (TR)

   Dr Caitlin Brandenburg (AU) 

   Dr Marcus Meinzer (AU) 

   Dr Caterina Breitenstein (DE)

   Dr Enrique Noé Sebastián (ES)

   Prof David Copland (AU)

   Dr Reza Nilipour (IR)

   Dr Tamara Cranfill (US) 

   Dr Rebecca Palmer (UK)

   Dr E. Susan Duncan (US)

   Dr Brigida Patricio (PT)

   Ms Marie di Pietro (CH)

   Dr Isabel Pavão Martins (PT)

   Dr Joanne Fillingham (UK)

   Dr Tatjana Prizl Jakovac (HR)

   Dr Marialuisa Gandalfi (IT)

   Dr Nam-Jong Paik (KR) 

   Dr Bertrand Glize (FR)

   Dr Ilias Papathanasiou (GR)

   Dr Erin Godecke (AU)

   Dr Cathy Price (UK)

   Dr Katerina Hilari (UK)

   Prof Elizabeth Rochon (CA)

   Dr Jacqueline Hinckley (US)

   Dr Miranda Rose (AU)

   Dr Simon Horton (UK)

   Dr Charlotte Rosso (FR)

   Prof David Howard (UK)

   Dr Ilona Rubi-Fesson (DE) 

   Dr Petra Jaecks (DE) 

   Dr Marina Ruiter (NL)

   Dr Beth Jefferies (UK) 

   Dr Rebecca Shisler Marshall (US)

   Dr Luis Jesus (PT)

   Dr Claerwen Snell (UK)

   Dr Monika Jungblut (DE)

   Dr Jerzy P Szaflarski (US) 

   Dr Eun Kyoung Kang (KR) 

   Dr Shirley Thomas (UK)

   Dr Maria Kambanaros (CY)

   Dr Ineke van de Meulen (NL)

   Prof Eman Khedr (EG)

   Dr Mieke van de Sandt-Koenderman (NL)

   Tarja Kukkonen (FI)

   Dr Evy Visch-Brink (NL)

   Prof Matt Lambon Ralph (UK) 

   Prof Heather Wright Harris (US)

   Dr Marina Laganaro (CH)

   Prof Linda Worrall (AU)

   Prof Ann-Charlotte Laska (SE)


   Dr Béatrice Leeman (CH)